CIPS Level 4

Diploma in Procurement and Supply

91% Pass rate on CIPS Diploma

CIPS Level 4 Course Overview

The CIPS Level 4 Diploma in Procurement and Supply qualification aims to give individuals some insight into best practices, learn to make effective use of information and develop their decision making skills and improve efficiency and effectiveness. This is the highest CIPS Level you can start at when working towards MCIPS status.

SRSCC Image Blocks extras2

CIPS Level 4 Course Information

Consists of eight compulsory units:

• L4M1 Scope and Influence of Procurement and Supply
• L4M2 Defining Business Need
• L4M3 Commercial Contracting
• L4M4 Ethical and Responsible Sourcing
• L4M5 Commercial Negotiation
• L4M6 Supply Relationships
• L4M7 Whole Life Asset Management
• L4M8 Procurement and Supply in Practice

CIPS Level 4 is for buyers who are looking to progress into management, and those with previous qualifications and experience. This is the highest level you can start the CIPS qualifications at.

Typical job titles of those who start at this level are:

• Buyer
• Procurement/purchasing executive
• Procurement Specialist
• Contract officer
• Supply chain/inventory/logistics analyst
• Supply chain/inventory/logistics planner

First year degree or HNC, NVQ level 4 (UK)
SAQA NQF level 6 (SA), NZQA level 5 (NZ)
AQF diploma (VET/AUS) TQF level 4 (TEVETA)

Successful completion of CIPS Level 3 Advanced Certificate OR CIPS Level 3 Certificate in Procurement and supply operations . Alternatively, 2 years relevant work experience OR two A-level qualifications (or International equivalent). If you are unsure whether or not you would be able to start at this level please call for a chat or email

The core skills learnt at this level are the provision of advice and guidance to key stakeholders on the performance of organisational procedures and processes in purchasing and supply. This CIPS Level 4 Diploma in Procurement and Supply is a valuable management tool focused on:

• Planning and forecasting for future demand
• Forward planning and contract development
• Negotiation volumes
• Margins and standards
• Creating and controlling specifications
• Contract management

It also covers the supply market chain:

• Negotiating with suppliers
• Conflict resolution
• Performance review

Each 12 credit unit is assessed through a 3-hour computer based exam consisting of essay style questions. Each 6 credit unit is assessed through a 1.5- hour computer based exam consisting of drag and drop, multiple choice and drop down list style questions.

Available Learning Options


Face to face across the 9 study centres


Delivered at organisation (minimum numbers apply)

Virtual Classroom

Live video link direct to classroom

CIPS Level 4 Distance Learning

Interactive learning environment with pre-recorded videos, course material, mock test etc.

Want to know more about CIPS Level 4? Contact our team now