CIPS Level 5 2019-11-12T12:07:10+00:00

Project Description

CIPS Level 5

Advanced Diploma in Procurement and Supply


Download Course Guide

Aimed at senior buyers, contract managers or supply chain managers the CIPS Level 5 course is designed to give you the expertise to improve organisational procurement and fulfil organisational objectives

The CIPS Level 5 Advanced Diploma in Procurement and Supply consists of 5 core units and 3 optional units – 5 units must be completed in total:

  • L5M1 Managing Teams and Individuals
  • L5M2 Managing Supply Chain Risk
  • L5M3 Managing Contractual Risk
  • L5M4 Advanced Contract & Financial Management
  • L5M5 Managing Ethical Procurement and Supply

Elective units:

  • L5M6 Category Management
  • L5M7 Achieving Competitive Advantage Through the Supply Chain
  • L5M8 Project and Change Management
  • L5M9 Operations Management
  • L5M10 Logistics Management
  • L5M15 Advanced Negotiation

Experienced buyers and managers who wish to pursue a strategic management/leadership role in purchasing.

Typical job titles at this level:

  • Senior/chief buyer
  • Group/senior procurement/purchasing executive
  • Category manager
  • Contract manager
  • Logistics manager
  • Supply chain manager

Second year honours degree, NVQ level 5, HND (UK)
SAQA NQF level 7 (SA), NZQA level 6 (NZ)
AQF Advanced diploma (VET/AUS) TQF level 5

Successful completion of CIPS Level 4 Diploma in Procurement and Supply OR CIPS Level 4 Foundation diploma in purchasing and supply

The CIPS Level 5 Advanced Diploma focuses on cost reduction and adding value by:

  • Improving timescales and stock control
  • Management and innovation in the procurement and supply process
  • Developing legal and risk management expertise

Core skills being the expertise to improve or develop and fulfil organisational and functional objectives in purchasing and supply

Each 12 credit unit is assessed through a 3-hour computer based exam consisting of essay style questions. Each 6 credit unit is assessed through a 1.5-hour computer based exam consisting of drag and drop, multiple choice and drop down list style questions.

“Having completed Levels 4 and 5 elsewhere, I was slightly apprehensive about completing the CIPS Professional Diploma with a new provider within an established work group. SRSCC made me feel part of the group from the first session”. 

Andy Ridehalgh, Building Systems Manager, Preston City Council

Want to learn more? Contact our team

Contact Us